the invitation

a quarantine psalm

by holly j. clemente

Preface: My pastor often says, “The loudest voice is not always the true voice.” I was reflecting on that thought as I went to bed last night and thinking once again how true it is. The loudest voices in my head are often the ones that magnify the difficulties that I am facing and simultaneously put a limit on the absolute truth of God’s power in any given situation. As I was drifting off to sleep, I was consciously silencing these voices in favor of the still, small voice that was sweetly surrounding me. It was the middle of the night when this song rang through my soul, another invitation to say yes to God.

The storm is strong, the waves are high

Its hard to breathe, to find true rest.

There is constant commotion and loud noise

that comes at me from every side.

The fear can overwhelm, the helplessness is real

but when I take time to quiet myself

and to ignore the voices that lie

Your presence invades

and once again, takes me by surprise.

It is in the hardest of places

that I find I can fully depend on You

just as I was created to.

And in that place of complete dependence

You invite me

to a place that is harder, yet so much richer than before.

You reveal more of your love for me

and take me deeper into knowing You.

You pursue me

though at times I am afraid, you draw me closer every day

until I can see that your glory

is much greater than the chaos.

There is no room for fear in your perfect love.

This is truth:

I am safe, I am secure.

You are my refuge,

my name is found and known in You.

No power on earth can shake You,

You have conquered even death.

You are perfect in all your ways

and I know that wherever You lead me…

there’s no place I would rather be.

God, invite me

I want to go deeper, even if its harder.

Knowing you and your heart

is beyond worth every loss.

I will pursue You

because at the end of every day,

only your mission remains

to reach others with your love.

My soul will sing your praises,

now, for a moment, in the dark

until forevermore in the light.

Read more…


Holly Joy Clemente has always had a passion to see others get involved in the Great Commission. She prayed and dreamed of a way to use her writing to that end, and God gave her the vision for this blog. Her hope is that others will be encouraged and inspired to trust God and step out in faith when it comes to leaving comfort zones for the sake of the Gospel.

You can find out more about her writing at: https://www.facebook.com/hollyjclemente/

See Full Bio…

Published by Holly J Clemente

Holly Joy Clemente passionately loves God and family, and she's living God's dream for her life in the last place she would've ever imagined...Mexico! Holly and her husband Noe believe that parenting their six children is their highest calling, and in addition to raising their kids, they serve as full-time missionaries, working with children and seeing families redeemed and restored by the grace of God. Challenges like having the water shut off, nightly searches for scorpions, and no A/C during the summer have become manageable with the help of Jesus, friends, coffee, a good book, and 5 minutes in the bathroom by herself.

One thought on “the invitation

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started